Possession and Prosecution of Drug Charges in Connecticut

Possession and Prosecution of Drug Charges in Connecticut

Possession of any amount of narcotics in CT is a felony. These substances include heroin, cocaine, and crack cocaine. If you are charged with possession of any of these substances, you are looking at penalties of 7 to 25 years in jail and fines of $50,000.00 to $250,000.00.

CT takes narcotics prosecution very seriously because in some cities and towns, these substances cause a huge public safety hazard that often leads to burglaries, robberies, and violent crime in addition to overall blight in an area.

Possession of any amount of hallucinogens is a felony. These substances include PCP (a.k.a. angel dust), mescaline, LSD (a.k.a. acid) and MMDA (a.k.a. ecstasy). If you are charged with possession of any of these substances, you will be facing the maximum penalties of 5 to 10 years in jail and fines of $2,000 to $5,000.

All other drugs, including prescription drugs which you are illegally in possession of carry anywhere from 1 to 5 years in jail and $1,000.00 to $3,000.00 fine.

Narcotics or Hallucinogens distribution charges in CT carry the following penalties:

1st offense – 15 years in jail; $50,000.00

2nd offense – 30 years in jail; $100,000.00

Sale of any other illegal drugs (not marijuana) in CT carries the following penalties:

1st offense – 7 years in jail; $25,000 fine

2nd offense – 15 years in jail; $100,000 fine

Since police officers and prosecutors are public safety officials, there is a deep and elevated concern among them about drug dealing that takes place in certain locations. Among those locations are schools (first grade through 12th grade), public housing developments, daycare centers and parks. If you are within 1500 feet of one of these locations engaging in drug distribution, this charge will be added to the charge of distribution and possession. This charge is a felony.

READ  Convicted of a Tax Crime? A Criminal Lawyer Can Help You Avoid Pitfalls in the Legal System

Anyone who uses a child under 18 years of age to sell or distribute any illegal substance will not only be charged with the crime committed by the minor child, but will also face charges of hiring a minor to distribute drugs. This crime carries a MANDATORY 3 YEAR JAIL SENTENCE in addition to the sentence imposed by the underlying drug sale violation.

Anyone who sells or otherwise distributes any illegal substance to a minor child under 18 will be facing a mandatory 2 year jail sentence in addition to the sentence imposed by the underlying distribution violation.